Travelling with your Ex-Lover: Day 5 | Prague

eyeemfiltered1383828525118[1]
Overlooking Prague from Vyserhad

More Prague discoveries. We miss this city so much!


LILLY

Highlight of the day
The weather is less cruel today. We started off walking in Petrin Hill, and the sight of a particular abandoned statue, green with moss at an obscure corner triggered something I don’t fully understand. A strange hue of sadness started to form sediments around my thoughts that I remained quite silent the entire day. We circled the perimeter of the city, without a map in hand and found ourselves in Vyserhad, a small hill on which stood a humble Gothic church and a cemetery at its side. As we walked back down, the church bells were playing and I thought to myself: how can something so beautiful can be so sad too? Heavy, such a heavy day. But things got better and I opened up when we stumbled upon a quaint street right beneath Charles Bridge. Autumnal trees lined the street and it was as if we were kids and we had discovered a buried toy by accident and we really didn’t want to leave.

eyeemfiltered1383826141189[1]

Low point of the day
The main square. A little too touristy for my liking.

Did you learn anything new about yourself?
Realised that I was afraid and slightly uncomfortable with today’s heaviness and sadness. If you know me well enough, you’ll know that I, to a certain degree revel in heaviness, but this time, I didn’t really want to submerge myself in it. I hope I am making sense. Also, Erik told me that it is time I take responsibility for someone. When he said that, I was immediately tense with fear. Plus, a staggering (but not entirely surprising) realization for why Erik is my one and only boyfriend. Go figure.

Did you learn anything new about Erik?
Traveling with Erik feels like I’m traveling alone, but with someone by my side. There’s a really nice sense of seamlessness and effortlessness about being with him, though, I also noticed that we are totally unaffectionate when we are together, and only do so in writing. I don’t think we can ever talk about menial things, which can be good and bad.

Song that describes your day
Music of the Night from The Phantom of the Opera. Really, this is the first song that I have hummed out loud (and copiously) ever since we touched down in London.

Quote that sums up the day
“I think that if I touched the earth, it would crumble
It is so sad and beautiful
So tremulously like a dream” — Dylan Thomas

And this too, as Erik and I were talking in our room before bed:

“To love her for her vices is to defile all virtue for her sake. And that is a real tribute of love, because you sacrifice your conscience, your reason, your integrity and your invaluable self esteem” — Ayn Rand

Random shots:

1) I used to think that Erik is a very impulsive person. He still is, but I am worse!

2) Erik really knows how to disconnect from people

3) It’s terrible to assume that everyone speaks English

4) We didn’t purchase a ticket for the tram we went on

5) Tereza, our AirB&B host looks better without make-up on

6) THE BED. I DON’T WANT TO LEAVE THE BED BUT I WANT TO SEE MORE OF PRAGUE TOO.

ERIK

eyeemfiltered1383842467088[1]
Little discoveries

Highlight of the day
More of the same but we took our time with Petrin hill today. Walking languorously, we tried to find the bludiste(maze) but Petrin winds rather intricately in various directions and we gave up after some time. We walked from the hill to a park on Strelecky island underneath Legion bridge which, funnily enough, was accessible by bubble lift. We sat for awhile at the park, gazing at the Vltava river which separated us from the city proper. Another highlight was a small clearing underneath Charles bridge that was very quaint and bohemian – lovers would write their names on locks and attach them to a tiny bridge which stretched over pretty wooden boats floating along the canal below.

Lowpoint of the day
The square was a little too crowded today but I won’t harp.

Did you learn anything new about yourself
I learnt that after so many years, Lilly’s mood swings still affect me quite a bit (lyric that comes to mind immediately: “I thought I found a way to enter, But it’s just a reflector” from Reflektor by Arcade Fire). She was really mellow in the morning and that had a spillover effect. I’m not sure if I leave her alone to her thoughts during her funks because I kind of get what she’s feeling or if I have no clue whatsoever. There’s a science to sadness after all.

Did you learn anything new about Lilly
She has a few quirks but I more or less knew about them already.

eyeemfiltered1383842489974[1]
T
ak halal: Roast pork from street vendors

Song that best describes the day
Music of the night from The Phantom of the Opera. Lilly had this tune stuck in her head!
Bananas in pajamas theme – We were talking about shows we watched as kids. Lilly watched lots of violent power rangers while I watched Bananas, Barney and Sesame Street.

Film that best describes the day
Certified Copy which is similar to Before Sunset except for a very strange third act.

Quote that sums up the day
“If you saw Atlas, the giant who holds the world on his shoulders, if you saw that he stood, blood running down his chest, his knees buckling, his arms trembling but still trying to hold the world aloft with the last of his strength, and the greater his effort the heavier the world bore down upon his shoulders – What would you tell him?”

I…don’t know. What…could he do? What would you tell him?”

To shrug.”
Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand

I was explaining (while not necessarily agreeing with) Rand’s theory of objectivism to Lilly over goulash for breakfast.

eyeemfiltered1383826279581[1]

Random shots:
1) I could really see myself living on that street beneath Charles Bridge. I prefer quieter districts away from the city itself.

2) Amount of alcohol consumed today: 1L.
Amount of alcohol consumed on trip so far: 2L.
Probability of liver failure in medium to long term future: High.

3) The tavern we were at for breakfast this morning smelt of stale cigarette smoke and did not have a breakfast menu. In its place was a selection of vodka shots. The other patrons were also having breakfast pints.

3) I realize I enjoy telling Lilly Catcholicy things when we’re in the churches in Prague even though my own Catholicism has gone from being dormant to renounced. Maybe I have some strange religious melancholia thing going on ala Jewish Ryan Gosling in The Believer.

4) Lilly is always on her phone!!!

5) Lilly says ‘find for’ a lot. E.g. I need to find for my phone. It should be ‘look for’. Alternatively she could omit the “for” from “find for”. Tsk.

5) It’s 9.46PM (feels more like 12.46AM) and Lilly is craving kampung fried rice. You can take the gal out of Malaysia but you can’t take Malaysia outta the gal.
9.47PM, Lilly craving Maggi goreng.
9.48PM, Lilly craving Maggi goreng with wobbly egg on top.
9.49PM, Lilly craving dim sum, specifically siew mai, salad prawns and eggplant.
9.50PM, Lilly craving Banana leaf rice from Kanna Curry House.

Leave a Reply

