Recollection .1

I’ve been taking photographs for as long as I can remember. Even without my own refresher, my mom would remind me of the time I’d cry and scream as a child, demanding for a hand at my dad’s Canon point-and-shoot. I’d toy around with his old and faulty Yashica until I was finally 17, and felt that it was time I asked for camera of my own.

My SPM grades were an easy excuse for reward, and my mom had graciously driven me to Amcorp Mall in PJ Old Town to scout for a brand new camera. Then, I was happy that I had my hands on a Nikon D60.

Perhaps it was bulky and cumbersome to use that soon after, I found myself using the camera less. I developed less film, and used my phone more often as a substitute. The Nikon served me well for 4 years, before I sold it to a friend who I suppose would give it more love and care than I could.

My camera endeavours come and go, from a Holga, to that D60, to an F2s SLR– all of which found themselves a shorter shelf life than I had hope for, substituted by the easy iPhone and VSCO concoction which doesn’t always give me the satisfaction I seek.

This time around, I’ve fallen again for that voice. Mainly because I needed a camera for the work that I’m doing– taking product shots, photoshoots and the occasional photo essay. But in the fiery depths of a love reacquainted, I’ve decided to make a little more use of this new purchase.

With that, Recollection will be a running series of some sort of my humble photographic endeavour. The name came into being for two reasons: these pictures serve as a memory bank for my future self, a mode in which I’d recollect the details that once stood out to me so dearly. Similarly, I’m re-collecting as I’m shooting– my long lost love, a rusty skill, and my  muted but persistent wonder.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Taman Paramount, April 2017.

Leave a Reply

